PieDAO asset classes or custom indexing - to include commodities, existing indexes like S&P

I was laying in bed thinking about PieDAO.
My thoughts started racing beyond cryptocurrencies and I started thinking about the reification of existing indexes, for example the S&P 500.
There is no way to exchange to stocks and nor should there be any misrepresentation. I am no lawyer either, but hear me out.
Why could PieDAO not create custom indexes, say 33.333 gold, 33.333 silver, 33.333 platinum and use like Ktico as the oracle and even partner with such oracles?
Why could PieDAO not create a commodities index say Agriculture Index that tracks like RJA? Talking soybean to lean pork to corn? I think it makes crypto more interesting.
The price would need to track and use the live time as oracle.
Could do steel, lumber (ie 1/2 CDX, 3/4 AC plywood), could get specific to specie(s) (ie SPF, spruce pine fir, Douglas Fir, etc) and even rebar like #4 rebar (i e 20 foot lengths). Could use a specific oracle, be it “Random Lengths” or a specified market indicator.
S&P 500 is the price (if S&P 500). That’s it. Nothing more.
Follow me?
Doesn’t just have to be cryptocurrencies, but could be PieDAOs of just crypto.
Imagine the job creation and buzz around all of this. Imagine spinning heads of wall street. Would be a good thing as it moves into reification of existing markets.
Good idea or bad?
I think with crypto and indexing it is whatever the market will bear, but with specific assets or commodities - that is the price, make sense?
Could do Blue Fin Tuna, King Crab, and Sockeye Salmon index…on and on and on. Maybe these “tokens” could be exchanged for actual bartering and create free market economics. Say “tokens” in exchange for delivered to your door King Salmon, or beef packages (hamburger, T bones, ribeye, etc). It introduces a new mechanism of exchange with potential for partners.

4 Likes